Mashiro-Iro Symphony – Initial Thoughts


This picture pretty much sums up what this show is about. Cute girls doing cute things.

Well, we have another season of anime, and of course with this new season comes a new harem anime based on an eroge.
There are numerous series out there that have been based upon various eroge, or general dating sims, and I do not see this changing. They tend to be relatively mediocre in terms of content but overall quite enjoyable to watch.

A small list of anime that were originally eroge.

• Air
• Canvas 2: Niji Iro no Sketch
• Da Capo
• Fate/stay night
• Kanon
• Kimi ga Nozomu Eien
• Lamune
• Oretachi ni Tsubasa wa Nai
• Otome wa Boku ni Koishiteru
• Prism Ark
• School Days
• Shuffle!
• Tears to Tiara
• To Heart
• Utawarerumono

I have watched quite a few and honestly have enjoyed them all, they are light entertainment for me and while they may not be groundbreaking they keep me entertained throughout. Mashiro-Iro Symphony is the latest in this long line of erotic sim games that have been turned into anime and so far it has been entirely what I expected.

We have had the classic examples of boy running into random, but entirely cheerful girl, who of course later turns into one of the ultimate Tsundere’s. We have the childhood friend and of course the caring younger sister, and we have also been introduced to the sempai and the cheerful girl with masses of energy. All in all a classic harem plot taken straight from any eroge. and of course I am expecting the classic bath scenes, beach episode and naturally the male protagonist walking in on girls changing (this has already happened). So we have the classic ecchi element found in every harem anime since the dawn of time.

the Tsundere of the show.

This anime is pretty much fluff, however I am enjoying watching the characters, and the artwork is rally quite pretty, although it is definitely near the extreme end of moe in terms of character designs. I have to admit I had my doubts at first since it seemed to be taking a while to sort itself out, however, after three episodes we are finally getting some character progression and of course relationships are being built.

Overall I am enjoying this series, it is nothing special, but I like the character designs, the general art is wonderful with classic school uniforms that have so many frills and lacework they could only exist in an eroge. It is your classic harem anime and quite honestly you can probably find all there is to know by simply watching the opening sequence. This show will definitely not be for everyone and I can fully understand why. However so far I have enjoyed it as a piece of light entertainment with a stereotypical harem plot with various cute girls doing vaguely cute things. On the plus side there is that odd cat creature that you simply cant ignore and I would love a plushie of it. I would recommend this show then as a piece of entertainment, just make sure you don’t go watching it expecting something outstanding and mind blowing, because your not going to get it.

Can I has one?

About illogicalzen
An Illogical anime fan in a very Zen-like way.

2 Responses to Mashiro-Iro Symphony – Initial Thoughts

  1. Subarashikun says:

    Based on an Eroge? This must be my kind of anime ^_^ oh and Kanon was originally an eroge? I have got to download that Game! haha. We’re the same when it comes to Liking character designs and may I say you have great taste!

    • illogicalzen says:

      I dont mind these kinds of anime, they are entertaining in their own way.

      Of course now that ive said that, ill probably write a review at the end of the season syaing that I was wrong about this or something. ^__^

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 896 other followers

