An Illogical take on the aniblog Tournament 2012


As many may know, two years ago the first aniblog tournament was created, partly for fun, but also with the aim of showing people how varied the aniblog sphere is by introducing many new, or perhaps unheard of blogs to a wider audience. And this year, this month in fact marks the start of the second aniblog tournament, and my blog has been entered this year. I wasn’t around for the last tournament, and in fact, hadn’t really been looking at blogs until very recently; however, I am looking forward to it, and hope to at least make it past the first round.

The purpose of this post is to basically make people aware of what is happening, since you cant be sure that everyone who reads my blog (bloggers, random passers by and bots alike) actually even know of the tournaments existence. Details of what’s happening can be found here, and I hope it should be an entertaining couple of months.

I was trying to work out why people should vote for me, but the best I could come up with is that I can provide cookies and potentially nekomimi, well, cats at any rate, all out of nekomimi at the moment I’m afraid. But still, I hope people enjoy reading my blog enough to vote for me in the tournament, along with discovering many new blogs. That is what this tournament is about really, well, apart from the drama (I mean constructive criticisms and wonderful comments by wonderful people), critques of blog designs (something that I dont necessarily agree with, but appears to be happening at the moment) along with feedback and general banter among the aniblogging community, along with a some passersby. Finally, my blog isn’t up until the 25th of this month, all the dates are on the aniblogtourney website.

About illogicalzen
An Illogical anime fan in a very Zen-like way.

9 Responses to An Illogical take on the aniblog Tournament 2012

  1. TRazor says:

    Above all, it’s something different and is a festivity that happens only once in two years. For 23 months, it’s the same old episodics and editorials on airing anime and the Tourney makes the bloggers try something different or at least step up their game. Sure, at the end of the day, it is a popularity concept and only the big blogs are going to win. The traffic spike it brings to your blog will be short-lived too. But the Tourney only brings all the new eyes, and it’s upto the blogger to retain them.

    As much as I am a fan of the Tourney discussion (I refuse to call every single conversation about it “drama” because that terms is far too glorified than it realy should be) I’m not too fond of the blog design/layout critiques. As long as the content is readeable, I don’t see what the deal is.

    Good luck and have fun!

    • illogicalzen says:

      Very true, generally its simple discussion, drama can erupt though, but I think thats mostly surrounding the most popular blogs. The Tourney has only just begun, so there isnt a massive discussion yet, but I can see it picking up as the Tourney progresses.

      In terms of critiquing blog designs, I get annoyed when blogs seem messy, but at the same time that wont really stop me from having a look, because after all its the content that ‘should’ matter.

      In the end, as long as people read and enjoy what I write thats fine with me, half the reason I blog is actually to write and practice writing, it also gives me a chance to explore areas of anime that I havent necessarily had a chance to look at before.

  2. Justin says:

    I haven’t seen too much drama since the tourney started so as long as we have the mindset of, “Ok this doesn’t work so I’ll do this instead, thanks for the criticism,” and “we might gain a new follower or more others,” Then the tourney will be worth it. Well, that’s part of it as well, there are other reasons I’d bet!

    • illogicalzen says:

      Well, im sure some drama will happen at some point or other, its almost inherent when you have people with opposing opinions and ways of viewing one medium. I’m not saying that it is a good thing, and often makes things worse, but its just one of those things that can, and often does happen, just depends on how you react to it.

      The tourney should be great fun, it might be partly there to introduce new blogs to people, but there is a little more to it, especially for the bigger, more popular blogs. In terms of criticisms, im happy with them as long as they are constructive – I wont give the time of day to anyone who just makes silly comments like ‘well, your wrong about what you say and dont know anything’. But, if such criticisms are constructive and make a good point then they are good and can help tremendously.

  3. Overlord-G says:

    Best of luck at the tournament and may the best blog win…I guess. I’m just happy I was acknowledged and qualified to enter the tournament. It means I actually hit the big leagues! Woohoo! “For truth, justice, yuri and CORN MUFFINS!”

  4. danna45 says:

    …Wow, I never even knew this tournament existed. I already kinda gave up on blogging about anime(or anything else at all) a long time ago so I don’t exactly understand what it feels like to have an anime/manga blog ongoing for so long, but good luck!

    • illogicalzen says:

      I had no idea that it existed until very recently either, and actually I was quite ignorant of the entire aniblog sphere as well.

      It’s all a bit of fun, at least it should be for many, perhaps it gets more serious for some.

  5. Emperor J says:

    This is my second time in the tournament, and I’m hoping to do better than last time (humiliating defeat in the opening round). The drama isn’t going to kick off for another month or so, unless someone decides to go entirely off the reservation with personal attacks. Best of luck to you in a few days time.

    • illogicalzen says:

      I didn’t even know that the tournament existed until a couple of months ago, and I wasn’t blogging or even reading anime blogs until about a year ago, maybe a little longer. I am partly looking forward to seeing what happens as the tournament progresses, regardless of whether this blog gets far or not. And yes, I think any drama that does happen is likely to be around the 2nd round and beyond. Not a fan of personal attacks, they dont achieve anything and are simply nasty, so hopefully those kinds of things dont happen. There has been quite a few people critiquing blog layouts though for whatever reason, it makes sense, but also perhaps misses the point that the content should be what is important, not the way it looks.

Leave a Reply

